We are like dwarfs sitting on the shoulders of giants. We see more, and things that are more distant, than they did, not because our sight is superior or because we are taller than they, but because they raise us up, and by their great stature add to ours. –John of Salisbury

The two men who inspired me to take up PITCHf/x analysis have both now moved on to work for major league clubs. My hearty congratulations go out to Dan Fox, the new Director of Baseball Systems Development for the Pittsburgh Pirates. The Pirates are getting a good man.

Previously, Joe P. Sheehan took an internship with an undisclosed major league club. I am excited for him and fully expect to see his name in bigger roles in the not-too-distant future.

I quote John of Salisbury not to claim superiority for my work over Dan’s or Joe’s, but to the extent that I have been successful in uncovering new territory, a great deal of credit goes to Joe and Dan for inspiring me and for laying out the groundwork in the nascent PITCHf/x field. I appreciate both of them, and I’m encouraged to see their work being recognized by major league clubs.